International Hangout: Yo’ Mama, Poo, and Ice Cream!

One of the things I love about being at SJSU is the diversity of the international students. You can always find someone interesting from another country on this campus. I love to see different nationalities come together and just have a nice deep and intellectual conversation… about the meaning of “yo’ mama” jokes.

The first two international students I hung out with were Julia and Yuki from Japan! We had a good time, walked around a bit, got some Ben and Jerry’s, and played some Rock Band! Soon you’ll see some pictures of her trying to teach me some Japanese cooking! 待ってない!

Yuki and Julia, messin' around in the downtown water fountain near the Tech Museum!

Yuki and Julia, messin' around in the downtown water fountain near the Tech Museum!

About two weeks ago, I saw the exchange student stand out in front of the Student Union, and I thought I should check it out. This is where I first met Grace (Taiwan) and Felix (Germany).

Grace, Me, and Felix

Grace, Me, and Felix. Of course they did their job trying to suck me into becoming an exchange student for their countries, but I kept my fire for Japan strong! But they were quite good... Almost made me want to switch countries!

We chatted for a while, and of course, I asked the obligatory question all Americans ask: “So… what do you think of America and Americans?” And they both naturally responded warmly with “Oh, I LOVE it” and “Americans are cool!”. Of COURSE we are. We’re AMERICAN (Just kiddin’, you guys, lol). So They invited me back next week when it was their shift to run the exchange table again, lol. So I came back to keep’em company! We decided we would go walk around downtown, and get some Ben & Jerry’s (it’s a good spot, aight? And they have awesome sorbets!). Grace said she’d bring some of her friends from Japan, and I brought Sara from Kono Team (the apartment) along. We all met up on that Thursday, and went to B&J.

Felix, Grace, Tomomi (Japan), and Sara

Felix, Grace, Tomomi (Japan), and Sara

Justine

Justine (Taiwan)

Shinji (Japan) enjoying a nice mango mango sorbet!

Shinji (Japan) enjoying a nice mango mango sorbet! Or... is it painful...?

(Japan)

Pamela (Taiwan)

IMG_1484IMG_1490IMG_1491So, we just talked about the differences in cultures, and how awesome America is, music, social tendencies… a vast variety of things we were all curious about! Then we got to jokes. Apparently, American jokes are ridiculously crude and demeaning compared to their jokes. Justine’s “polar bear” joke was a great example. It was about a polar bear who had pulled off all it’s fur for some reason, and declared “It’s cold!”. I thought it was hilarious because it was such an obvious thing to say… And Tomomi explained how Japanese jokes aren’t usually told by one person. Like… it’s usually a two-person stand-up, or someone telling a long, funny story. It also seems that we (America) are the only country in this group of people who have racist jokes… lol.

So, I moved on to some simpler jokes. Or at least what I THOUGHT was simple. I tried a stupid knock-knock joke I had just learned from Ryan

Click here to read his unfortunate adventure at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk!

Click here to read his unfortunate adventure at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! 😀

So it here’s how it goes: ‘Kay you ready? Kay. So  here. Haha. Yeah:

A: Knock knock!

B: Who’s there?

A: I eat mop!

B: I eat mop WHO?

And that’s usually the end of the joke, because Mr./Ms. A can’t stop laughing. Apparently Mr./Ms. B eats their own poo. As you can imagine, it took a LOT of explaining WHY they said they were eating their own poo.  And if YOU still don’t get it, it’s because if you say “I eat mop who?”… it sounds a lot like “I eat mah poo”, especially if you say it normal speed without directly separating “mop” and “who”, lol. So yeah. I’m uh… I’m still laughin’ about that…

Woah, what's up, Grace?

Grace does NOT eat her poo.

So as you can imagine… yo’ mama’ jokes were 10x more painful to express, lol! Example 1: A classic

“Yo’ mama’s so fat, when she jumped in the air, she got STUCK!”

“…”

“… SHE GOT STUCK…!”

“…?”

“She’s so fat… that she… the air… y’know, around her…”

Result: Epic Fail. Example 2: Another old one. Not too complicated. Thought it’d be a lil’ easier:

“Yo mama’s so fat, that when she got hit by a bus, she turned around and said ‘ ‘Ey you kids quit throwin’ ’em rocks!'”

“… rocks?”

“Yeah! Because she’s so fat… that… she’s so big. And the bus… is so small-”

“But busses aren’t small!”

“No, they’re not, but your MOM is so fat… but not YOOUR mom, but…”

Result: Magnanimous Fail. Example 3: The EASIEST one I could think of…

“Your mama’s so fat… that every time she turns around, it’s her birthday!”

“… how?”

“Y’know… like the earth? As it rotates… it takes one full year to complete its rotation… and-”

“But my mom-”

“No, no, see she’s as BIG as the earth! Soo…”

Result: Extrasupertacular Fail. So I quit, because I was behind. I still had a LITTLE bit of dignity left, lol. So yo’ mama jokes… just don’t translate.

Grace's mama did NOT get stuck in the air...

Grace's mama did NOT get stuck in the air...

So with that, we decided to get some fresh air! Because the air in there was far too square (just wanted to rhyme). We set out towards the Tech, bringing Kanae, Tomomi and Shinji’s friend. She dropped in while we were in B&J’s.

Sara, Tomomi, Kanae, Justine, Shinji, Grace, and Felix

Sara, Tomomi, Kanae, Justine, Shinji, Grace, and Felix

Grace, just bein' Grace :)

Grace, just bein' Grace 🙂

Felix LOVES his coffee... Mmm MMM mmm...

Felix LOVES his coffee... Mmm MMM mmm...

Chug! Chug! Chug!

Chug! Chug! Chug!

So… after we realized that after the Tech… there IS no more interesting SJ in reach, and Tomomi had a class soon after, we decided to head back. We had a blast, though, just talking, and joking… I hope we can do this again, soon! Maybe I can get a better explanation of yo’ mama jokes next time… PAYCE!

Leave a Reply

